Indian women’s cricket team is set to tour Sri Lanka for three ODIs and three T20Is, scheduled for June. Since the 2022 Women's World Cup, it will be the first tour of India and the first match will be played on June 23 while the series will end on July 7.

According to reports, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee for women will hold a meeting to mull over the squads for the forthcoming tour. The BCCI selection committee will appoint a new ODI captain as part of their long-term plans for the team.

Meanwhile, this major report was carried out by India Today. The incumbent India team captain Mithali Raj has not quit international cricket but the BCCI is already considering other options for the leadership role as per India Today report.

Mithali and seasoned campaigner Jhulan Goswami were omitted from the squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge, which is ser to get underway on May 23 in Pune.

All-rounder Deepti Sharma has replaced Mithali as the skipper of the Velocity team. The second and third games will be held on May 24 and 26 and the final will be staged on May 28, prior to the IPL final.

Heather Knight, Sophie Ecclestone, Danielle Wyatt, Sophie Dunkley, Laura Wolvaardt, Marizanne Kapp, Deandra Dottin, and Hayley Matthews are the overseas cricketers who will be part of the competition.  After this year's Women’s T20 Challenge, BCCI plans to kick off a six-team Women’s IPL in 2023.